Awards & Recognition - General

Milken Family Foundation
This program is designed to honor educators who are making great strides in improving education. From its original presentation of awards to a dozen California educators, the program has grown to national stature.

National Middle School Association
The NMSA has a list of awards that are awarded to outstanding middle grade educators.

National Teacher of the Year Program
Sponsored by The Council of Chief State School Officers and Scholastic, the National Teacher of the Year Program began in 1952 and continues as the oldest national honors program that focuses public attention on excellence in teaching. A national selection committee representing the major national education organizations chooses the National Teacher of the Year from among the State Teachers of the Year. The site contains information about the application and nominating processes, duties of the National Teacher of the Year, and the selection criteria.

The National Teachers Hall of Fame
The National Teachers Hall of Fame annually honors five teachers who have demonstrated commitment and dedication to teaching. Anyone may nominate a teacher. Inductees receive a $1,000 stipend, $1,000 in materials for their school district, a $1,000 scholarship for a student in the inductee's school district who is planning to pursue a degree in education, and more. Candidates must be certified classroom teachers (active or retired) with at least 20 years experience teaching in grades preK-12.

NEA Foundation
The National Education Association's Foundation for the Improvement of Education offers grants and awards for educators listed.

State Teacher of the Year
Each state has a teacher of the year program. State teachers can nominate themselves or be nominated by parents and students. Each state's program is different; for nomination details contact the program coordinator for your state. Those who are named State Teacher of the Year are also considered for the National Teacher of the Year Award.

Thomson Gale TEAMS Award
The Thomson Gale TEAMS Award recognizes and encourages the critical collaboration between teachers and media specialists to promote learning and increase student achievement. Three winners each receive a $2,500 cash award; Thomson Gale products worth approximately $500; a one-year subscription to Library Media Connection; and the Educator's Professional Bookshelf from Linworth Publishing. Nominations may be submitted by library media specialists, teachers, principals, students, or parents, from all K-12 public and private schools in the US and Canada.

Young Educator Award
The ASCD Outstanding Young Educator Award nominee is an education professional, 40 years of age or younger, who demonstrates exemplary commitment and exceptional contribution to the profession. This person's creative and innovative accomplishments within the classroom, school, district, state, or region have had a significant impact on student performance and achievement over time and provide an ongoing model of excellence in encouraging all learners to succeed. The educator's body of work consistently proves leadership among colleagues. The winner receives $10,000.

back to top