Awards & Recognition - Other

ACTE National Awards Program
The Association for Career and Technical Education awards program seeks to promote excellence in career and technical education by recognizing individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the field, programs that exemplify the highest standards and organizations that have conducted activities to promote and expand career and technical education programs.

Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher of the Year Award
The TOY award identifies and recognizes exemplary family and consumer sciences teachers who exhibit a deep commitment to the profession and association. These teachers have outstanding educational programs, methods, techniques and activities that raise awareness of family and consumer sciences at the elementary and secondary levels.

Gladys Prior Awards for Career Teaching Excellence
This award honors four Jacksonville, Florida preK-12 teachers who inspire students through excellent teaching. Gilchrist Berg, president of Water Street Capital, gives the winners $15,000 each to spend as they wish. The award honors Mr. Berg's fourth grade public school teacher, Gladys Prior. The awards are administered by the University of North Florida. Anyone may nominate a teacher with ten years of experience.

Golden Apple Awards for Excellence in Teaching
The Golden Apple Awards for Excellence in Teaching program honors 10 teachers in the Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, and Will Counties in Illinois each year. Winners receive a paid sabbatical to take classes at Northwestern University, a laptop computer, a $3,000 stipend, and induction into the Golden Apple Academy.

MACUL Outstanding Teacher and Educator of the Year
The Michigan Association for Computer Users in Learning (MACUL) recognizes and honors MACUL members who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in implementing the use of technology to improve education. The TEA program presents a TEA Technology Classroom to two recognized MACUL recipients; an Outstanding Educator of the Year and an Outstanding Teacher of the Year.

back to top