Awards & Recognition - Social Studies

American Historical Association - The Beveridge Family Teaching Prize
Established in 1995, this prize honors the Beveridge family's longstanding commitment to the AHA and K-12 teaching. Friends and family members endowed this award to recognize excellence and innovation in elementary, middle school, and secondary history teaching, including career contributions and specific initiatives. The prize is awarded on a two-year cycle rotation: in even-numbered years, to an individual; in odd-numbered years, to a group. The winner receives a $1500 cash prize and a trip to Washington, D.C.

Association for Childhood Education International
ACEI's list of awards is centered on excellence in global education.

National Council for Geographic Education
The NCGE College/University and K-12 Distinguished Teaching Achievement Awards recognize outstanding geography teaching in the colleges, universities, and schools of the United States and Canada, including U.S. Department of Defense schools abroad.

Organization of American Historians
The Organization of American Historians sponsors an annual award to recognize the contributions made by pre-collegiate or classroom teachers to improve history education. The award is given for activities that enhance the intellectual development of other history teachers and/or students.

Outstanding Social Studies Teacher of the Year Award
Sponsored by the National Council for the Social Studies, this award is given to outstanding teachers, researchers, and other individuals and programs. This program recognizes classroom social studies teachers for grades K-6, 5-8, and 7-12, who teach social studies regularly.

Veterans of Foreign Wars
The VFW's National Citizenship Education Teachers' Award recognizes the nation's top elementary, junior high and high school teachers who regularly teach citizenship education topics and promote America's history and traditions. Winning teachers and their schools receive 1,000 dollars.

back to top