2015 PEF Chattanooga Fellows Awarded

Tennessee Teachers Awarded “Golden Ticket” for Summer Learning
Fund for Teachers Awards Grants to 22 Teachers From 10 Hamilton County Schools
for Self-Designed Fellowships

(HOUSTON) April 2, 2015 – Teachers work both as technicians teaching particular skills and intellectuals developing a love of learning.* To remain effective in both roles, teachers need development and inspiration. Fund for Teachers annually awards grants to preK-12 educators who address professional learning gaps through self-designed summer fellowships. Today, Fund for Teachers announces its list of 2015 Fellows.

  • 22 teachers representing 10 Hamilton County schools received Fund for Teachers grants.
  • These teachers will embark on summer odysseys spanning Asia, Europe and North America.
  • Topics range from researching the design of “safe buildings” in earthquake-prone San Francisco to exploring artifacts and ruins of Italy and Greece.
  • For a complete list of grant recipients and the schools they represent, visit fundforteachers.org.

“Our fellowship in India and Nepal was a life-changing experience,” said Megan McDill and Allison Fuller-Mully, teachers at Barger Academy of Fine Arts in Chattanooga. “We explored large cities and small towns, traveled by train, jeep, rickshaw and tuktuk and met new friends of all ages and castes. We learned much more than we could have anticipated, about both the world and ourselves, and now share those global experiences with our students across all STEM disciplines.”

Fund for Teachers is one of the largest funders of teacher learning in the country, investing $24 million in more than 6,500 teachers. The national not-for-profit partners with the Public Education Foundation – Chattanooga to administer the grants in locally. For more information about the application process, grant winners or student outcomes, visit fundforteachers.org.

*Center for Public Education, Teaching the Teachers: Effective Professional Development in an Era of High Stakes Accountability, 2013.